New awards launched to recognise outstanding fire resilience professionals.

May 1, 2024News

World Excellence Awards the organisation that runs the Outstanding Security Performance Awards (OSPAs) has today announced the launch of the Fire Resilience Excellence Awards (FREAs).

The FREAs recognise outstanding performance in tackling fires and improving resilience to them. These independent awards celebrate individuals, teams, companies, initiatives, and products involved in fire resilience management across various sectors including public, private, and third-sector organisations. The core values of the FREAs emphasise excellence, innovation, and dedication to fire safety in the UK.

The criteria for these awards are based on extensive research on key factors that contribute to and characterise outstanding performance. The FREAs are sponsored by AXA, the UKs leading insurance company, and are being set up in collaboration with key fire and resilience associations and groups, including BAFE, BAFSA, FIA and IFSM.

Commenting on the launch of the awards founder of World Excellence Awards, Professor Martin Gill said:

‘Being outstanding – as opposed to being ‘average’ or ‘good’ – has important implications. It means more organisations are protected, fewer individuals suffer, it is true to say that less people will lose their lives. Building on the ethical principles that have guided the development of the Outstanding Security Performance Awards (OSPAs) – now in 48 countries and growing – the FREAs are set to bring credible recognition to those who excel at what they do.’

Douglas Barnett, Director of Mid-Market and Customer Risk Management at AXA Insurance contributed:

‘We are delighted to support the FREAs. We have long admired the ethical principles of the OSPAs on which these are based, and we feel these awards will help showcase all that is good about the work of those involved with Fire and Resilience.’

Entry to the FREAs will open later in the year and nominations will be invited in the following categories:

Outstanding Leader
Outstanding Team
Outstanding Organisation
Outstanding Consultant
Outstanding Installer/Integrator
Outstanding Product/Innovation
Outstanding Partnership/Collaboration
Outstanding Risk Assessor
Outstanding Insurance Broker
Outstanding Loss Adjustor

More information about the FREAs, including how to enter can be found on the website.

Sponsorship is available for those organisations wishing take advantage of the many benefits associated with sponsoring these prestigious awards and the brochure can be viewed here.

What’s the latest?

Join our brand new Security & Risk Thought Leadership Newsletter